How Do I Disable My Instagram Account Temporarily?

If you want to temporarily disable your Instagram account, your profile will be hidden until you reactivate your account.  Rest assured, your profile, pictures, likes and comments won’t be lost, but instead they will just be hidden. You can reactivate your account at any time by simply logging back into Instagram.

To disable your account temporarily:

You must first log into Instagram from a computer or a mobile browser. If you tried to temporarily disable your Instagram account from the app, you can’t.

Once you log into Instagram, click your profile picture in the top right hand corner. From there you will select ‘Edit Profile’.

Next, scroll down and then click ‘Temporarily disable my account’ located in the bottom right.

Select a reason from the drop down menu located next to ‘Why are you disabling your account?’ and re-enter your password. The option to temporarily disable your account will only show up once you have selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.

Click or tap ‘Temporarily Disable Account’.

If you do not want to disable your account, but instead change who can view your profile and posts you can either make your profile private, restrict users or block users.

If you want to permanently delete your Instagram account, click here.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *